A brief History of

Hampton Park URC

The formation of the Hampton Park URC began in the early 1960’s when a group of Presbyterians came to Hereford. Many had been employed by Henry Wiggins & Co. transferring from their Birmingham and Glasgow sites to the new factory unit in north Hereford. At that time there was no Presbyterian Church in Hereford. Seeking a familiar place to worship support for a new church came from the Bristol Presbytery who purchased the current site in the housing development in Tupsley. Some 200 people gathered at the site for the foundation stone being laid in early 1969 by the Moderator of the Bristol Presbytery. Representatives from the Presbyterian Churches of Scotland, Wales, the Mayor of Hereford and other civic dignitaries were also present.

The church held its opening service on the 8th of December 1969. That same evening, during worship, a fire broke out in the heating chamber, venting black smoke throughout the Church. In spite of that near disaster the Church became firmly established in the new community that grew up around the building.

Hampton Park URC was established as a community church and to this day continues that tradition. Members of the congregation are now drawn from the neighbourhood and many different Christian traditions. The church is in a special ecumenical relationship with St. Paul’s Church of England that lies about quarter of mile away. The church shares a number of joint activities and worship. Jointly the churches sponsor the very successful local magazine, ‘The Tupsley Voice’. Published on a quarterly basis the free magazine is distributed to households in the wider community.

Under the headings of ‘Forthcoming Events and News’ and ‘Calendar of Weekly Activities’ on the side menu of this website one gets a flavour of the community activities that are currently available in the church.


Ministers that have served Hampton Park URC:

          • 2014 to 2021 Rev Martin Hardy

          • 2004-2012 Rev Norman Whitaker

          • 1998-9 Rev Marion Thomas (non stipendiary)

          • 1992-2002 Rev Roger Woodall

          • 1986-1991 Rev Terry Hinks

          • 1980-1986 Rev John Gardiner

          • 1969-1979 Rev Roger Whitehead

          • 1980-1986 Rev John Gardiner